USC headed back to Charleston Classic

Posted by David Cloninger on November 21, 2013 

Dominique Archie shoots during the S.C. Pro-Am.


South Carolina got a jump on its 2014-15 schedule on Thursday when it announced that it will compete in the 2014 Charleston Classic. This year's Classic began on Thursday in Charleston.

It will be the second time the Gamecocks are in the Classic. They advanced to the championship game in 2009 before losing to Miami. Forward Dominique Archie suffered a season-ending knee injury in that game, turning a season of hope into a 15-16 season.

Despite that sour history, it's a great event. It's a televised tournament, it's close to home and will offer some solid competition.

Here's the press release:

The Charleston Classic presented by Gildan announced six of the eight-team field for the 2014 tournament to be held Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 20, 21 and 23, at TD Arena in Charleston. The other participating teams announced are Akron, Cornell, Miami (Fla.), Penn State and Southern Cal. The final two teams will be announced at a later date.

"We are very excited to participate in next year's Charleston Classic," coach Frank Martin said. "Competing right here in our home state, in front of our great Gamecock fans, will be a big opportunity for our team. The field for the tournament is going to be very competitive and will be a good test for our guys early in the season."

Miami, Penn State and USC are each making their second appearance in the Charleston Classic. During the 2009 event, the Gamecocks defeated La Salle in the tournament's opening round, earned a win over USF to advance to the finals and lost to Miami in the championship game.

The 2014 Charleston Classic will feature a bracket format with 12 games over three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through the bracket. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship game on the final day of competition.

Past winners of the Charleston Classic are Colorado (2012), Northwestern (2011), Georgetown (2010), Miami (2009) and Clemson (2008). The 2013 Champion will be crowned at 9 p.m. on Nov. 24 on ESPN2.

This family-friendly tournament offers the teams a week of practice, play and experiences in and around historic Charleston.

Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Charleston Classic site at

Go Gamecocks is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service